Learn about Crystals & Chakras

I recently got really into learning all about CRYSTALS!

I love the idea of using them to re-balance your chakras, which are tied to physical and emotional problems in the body. There are seven main chakras: root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown.

You can figure out which chakra is out of balance by paying attention to how you react in stressful situations, or if you notice any patterns of recurring problems or illness. Once you can identify which chakra you want to focus on, there are several stones you can use to readjust your chakra and regain balance in your life.

Each chakra has healing crystals and gemstones of specific colors:

Root Chakra is red (with black, brown and gray as well)

∇ Influences your physical vitality, survival instincts, and the emotions of anger, jealousy, desire and greed. It controls the energy of instincts, pleasure, physical pain and touch.
∇ Use stones such as Red Garnet, Red Jasper, Smoky Quartz, Black Onyx and Hematite to feel more grounded, solid and confident in yourself.

Smoky Quartz

Sacral Chakra is orange

∇ Influences your sexuality, self esteem, pleasures, creativity, and frustrations. It’s the base of your creativity, manifesting, money, and prosperity.
∇ Use stones such as Carnelian, Zincite, Orange Calcite, Sunstone and Tiger’s Eye to feel excitement, inspiration and motivation again.

Solar Plexus Chakra is yellow

∇ Rules lessons involving fear of rejection, self esteem and sensitivity to criticism. It is the center of your emotional life and you may feel that it is what connects you to the environment.
∇ Use stones such as Yellow Jasper, Citrine, Yellow Sapphire, Pyrite and Rutilated Quartz to feel motivated, focused and confident in your decisions.

Citrine x2

Heart Chakra is green (with pink as the secondary color)

∇ This is the center for unconditional love, compassion, empathy, forgiveness and tolerance. It nurtures life lessons of love, self acceptance and confidence.
∇ Use stones such as Rose Quartz, Rhodonite, Aventurine, Green Tourmaline or Chrysoprase to radiate love of all kinds, strengthen your relationships and feel hopeful again.

Rose Quartz
Green Aventurine

Throat Chakra is blue (like aqua or turquoise)

∇ Rules communication, self expression and judgment. It is the center for truth and self knowledge, your attitudes and the physical senses of taste, smell and hearing.
∇ Use stones such as Blue Apatite, Blue Lace Agate, Aquamarine, Angelite and Sodalite to be able to express yourself and articulate your thoughts clearly.

Sodalite (I’m slightly obsessed)

Third Eye Chakra is indigo or shades of dark blue 

∇ This is the center for dreams, inner vision, spiritual direction and wisdom.
∇ Use stones such as Angelite, Amethyst, Iolite and Fluorite to relax and sleep better, regain your intuition and visualize or organize your life.


Crown Chakra is purple (with clear or white as the secondary color)

∇ Serves to balance the inner and outer self. It is also the connection to the Higher Self and it is through which we receive Divine guidance, wisdom and intuitive knowledge, ethics, values, trust and purpose.
∇ Use stones such as Clear Quartz, Diamond, Moldavite, Amethyst, Selenite and Moonstone to align this chakra center.

Clear Quartz

You can use crystals to…

∇ Hold during meditation
∇ Create a crystal grid
∇ Design a crystal altar to hold the space for your intention
∇ Carry in your pocket during the day
∇ Use during yoga – place them on your mat during your practice or on your body during savasana!

I found a lot of helpful information here and here.

I went to Stick, Stone & Bone with my roommate, Kristen (of ShopaholicProbz), to get all of our crystals and gemstones.


And I also picked up a Bloodstone, because HELLO PRETTY!


Next on my to-do list is to create a crystal altar on the new moon (because it represents new beginnings!) and set my intentions for the next month. Let me know if you’ve had any experience with using crystals. I’d love to hear about it. Comment below!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s